My One Card Celtic Cross Reading

91-XLI filled out the form to get my one-card reading. Although I’m very familiar with this image, I still get new insights every time I see it. My main concern was whether or not I should try and look for another part-time, temporary source of income over my winter break from school.

Question: What do I need to know about work over the holidays?

What’s happening? Why is it happening?: A tired woman is carrying her goods from the market. She needed to buy things to prepare her for the long winter season.

What’s wrong? What is the major concern?: Nothing’s really wrong – she’s just tired and overworked. She has so many responsibilities…everything is weighing her down. Her main concern is getting her baby home safely and putting down her goods so she can start to prepare supper. She’s also a little worried about whether she bought enough food to last all winter.

What has already happened? What will happen next?: She was at the market haggling with the salesperson and she thinks she overpaid a little for what she received. Next, she will get home and put everything down for a while. She may even kick up her feet first to relax and put the baby down for a nap before she has to work again.

Describe this character and their environment.: She is a single mother who is tired all the time. She has so much to do and not enough help to do it. She is walking down a long road. It is quite a distance to and from the market. She walks alone on this road.

What does this character want and need?: She wants a day off but she really needs help. The day off would help her relax but she needs permanent help so that she won’t feel overwhelmed all the time.

What is the solution? What action is necessary?: She could begin by asking someone for help. They may not be able to help her but at least it’s a start. Perhaps she and another mother could help each other out to give a day off on a regular basis. She needs to take some action to free herself from all of this responsibility so she won’t go crazy or get sick.

TIPS FOR INTERPRETING YOUR READING

(1) Read your story in 1st person. For example, “I am carrying my goods from the market.” Does it resonate with any aspects of your life?

(2) Look for feelings. Sometimes the feelings make a more powerful impression than anything else and can help you answer your question without looking much deeper. This story is telling me I’m overworked, tired all the time, and overwhelmed. Without looking any further, I know I should NOT try to take on another job during this break.

(3) Determine the REAL problem or issue. What’s wrong? What is the major concern? The answers to these two questions reveal the underlying issue.

(4)  Summarize the past, present, future. Just like in the Celtic Cross, there are several questions that reveal the past, present and future. What has already happened? (past), What’s happening? (present), What will happen next? (future). Here’s my summary in 1st person:

I was at the market haggling with the salesperson and I think I overpaid a little for what I received. Now, I’m tired and carrying my goods from the market. Next, I will get home and put everything down for a while. I may even kick up my feet first to relax and put the baby down for a nap before I have to work again.

(5) Find the solution. If you’ve asked an advice question (and, really, what questions AREN’T advice questions?), look at the answer to: What’s the solution? What action is necessary? Also look at: What does this character want and need?

(6) Decode the symbols. This takes a lot more work and some soul-searching to do it well. But you will be amazed at the depth you will uncover with just this quick reading. There is the surface layer that you get to with the basic story and summary. But when you decode the symbols and then read the story in 1st person with the decoded symbols, you will be blown away! To decode your symbols, go through your reading and underline any words or phrases that stand out and cannot be translated into meaning when in 1st person. Ask yourself, what is a such-and-so? what is its purpose? how is it used? Use the first answer that pops into your head. Here are my decoded symbols:

Market = a place where you get what you need

Goods = my goods and services, my money-making projects

Long winter season = winter break; we have 5 weeks off and that’s a long time for me to be idle. I realize as I write this that I don’t really want to work but all that free time makes me anxious since I have a compulsion to fill up all of my time.

Baby = my twelveofhearts “work”

Prepare supper = process of being nourished from the inside out

Haggling with salesperson = not satisfied with the the figurative price you must pay for something

Overpaid [for the goods] = spent too much (time?) on my projects

MY DECODED PHRASES

Her main concern is getting her baby home safely and putting down her goods so she can start to prepare supper. She’s also a little worried about whether she bought enough food to last all winter. = My main concern is getting my to a safe place with my blog and putting my projects down so I can start to nourish myself. I’m also a little worried about whether I have enough things to nourish me to last through the winter break.

She was at the market haggling with the salesperson and she thinks she overpaid a little for what she received. =  I’m not satisfied with the price I’ve had to pay in the process of developing my goods and services. I’ve invested too much time and energy in them at the expense of my own personal nourishment.

Next, she will get home and put everything down for a while. She may even kick up her feet first to relax and put the baby down for a nap before she has to work again. = Next, I will put everything down for a while. I may even kick up my feet to relax and put the twelveofhearts stuff down for a while before I have to work on it again.

Get your own one card Celtic Cross reading!

Let's discuss...

