DIVINE INTERVENTION: Doodle Divination

Do you keep a doodle journal?

A doodle is a type of sketch, an unfocused drawing made while a person’s attention is otherwise occupied. Doodles are simple drawings that can have concrete representational meaning or may just be abstract shapes.

When was the last time you doodled? Not only is doodling fun, it has many therapeutic benefits. According to a study published by Applied Cognitive Psychology, doodling helps a person’s memory significantly. In fact, research has shown that idle doodling while engaged in some other task actually helps you to concentrate and focus on the main task (Wired.com article). Graphologists believe that doodles can be interpreted to understand a person’s natural traits and mental state.

Doodle Divination
Begin with a question. Write it at the top of your blank page. Take a few deep breaths to center yourself and allow whatever images, shapes, lines, stick figures, to travel naturally from your brain to your pen. Don’t censor yourself. And doodling isn’t about artistic talent either. Some of the most revealing doodles are just simple abstract shapes.

Getting Insights
After you have doodled to your heart’s content, take a look at your doodles. Is there a theme to any of them? Did you draw only circles or triangles? Did you draw people, or cars, or animals? What do you think this symbolizes? How did you feel while doodling? You can either write down your insights or just let your doodles speak for themselves. How do your doodles answer your question? Find out what your doodles mean here http://drawsketch.about.com/cs/tipsandideas/a/doodle_2.htm

After examining the symbols, look at where they are on the page. Where you place your doodles is just as important as the doodle itself. You can even predict your future if you pay close attention to this placement.

Left side of page = the past, things you are trying to leave behind.

Right side of page = the future, things you are moving toward.

Center of page = the present, what’s happening now, what is the center of your life or your main focus.

Top of page = your goals and ideals, your Higher Self.

Bottom of page = what is suppressed or hidden, things you’re ignoring.

My Doodle Divination
Here are two examples from my doodle journal. First I write the question and the date. Then I draw the picture. And finally I may add some insights right to the page. This was done on my iPad with the GoodNotes app.

20121214-214757.jpg

After I drew my doodle I realized it bore an uncanny resemblance to one of the Pathways to the Soul card images I keep drawing in my daily readings (see photo inset). And the branching off theme was in My Career Path Reading.

The tunnel image caused me to ask another question…

20121214-214845.jpg

My interpretation of this image is leaving my childhood stuff behind (little girl’s playing hopscotch on the left side of the page) and closing some chapters there so I can move forward with my life. I’ve been staying with Mom for the last year and this has allowed me to do a lot of soulwork with our relationship.

The yellow brick road is in the past/center showing I’m on this path which looks like a road a car would travel on. It looks similar to the card from the past I chose for My Career Path Reading. Symbolically, cars signify drive, determination, and physical energy. Yellow relates to the solar plexus chakra which represents self-esteem and self-image and is all about wisely using personal power to take control of your life.

The tree is in the position of my future. I really love drawing trees so I wasn’t surprised to see one here. My main concern is that it’s got a hole in it. From a projective drawing perspective, the tree represents how you relate to the environment and to your world.The hole represents a trauma that keeps you from feeling whole. According to Marvin Leibowitz in the book Interpreting Projective Drawings: A Self Psychological Approach, you can determine the age of the trauma by looking at the placement of the hole relative to the entire tree. For example, if the person is 30 years old and the hole is 1/3 up the trunk (from the ground), then the trauma most likely occurred around age 10. In this case, it looks like the hole I’m trying to make whole occurred at ages 12 – 13. Otherwise, my tree looks fairly balanced with enough branches reaching up to the top of the page (signifying reaching my goals). In Lenormand readings, the tree is a sign of health and well-being so it’s a positive sign on the right side of the page.

So what’s at the end of the tunnel?

  • Being able to put a childhood trauma (ages 12 – 13) behind me
  • Having the drive, determination, physical energy and personal power to reach my goals
  • Working toward better physical and emotional health and wholeness

        

Let's discuss...

