Transforming Energy Blocks With Tarot Coaching

The tarot can be a wonderful tool for transforming energy and helping clients break through obstacles and end destructive patterns.

A Coaching Example

world10Swords

Over the Moon Tarot images courtesy of OldBookArt.com

We examined this pair of cards in Interpreting Energy Blocks in Card Pairs. This card pair may reflect a career pattern of rising up through the ranks only to plummet back down again (company downsizes, overlooked for promotion, etc.). This would be an opportunity to transform this energy by having the questioner really look at the 10 of Swords card and answer a few questions about the image.

(1) What’s happening?

(2) What’s the problem?

(3) What does the character want and need? What prevents this character from getting what they want and need?

(4) What’s the solution? What action is necessary?

Here’s a sample coaching Q & A:

Tarot Coach: What’s happening?
Client: Looks like Humpty Dumpty falling off the wall.

Tarot Coach: Do you connect the feeling of falling with your difficulty maintaining a top position with a company?
Client: Absolutely. It feels like I can only climb so high in every situation before I have to start over.

Tarot Coach: What’s the problem?
Client: He’s too round to sit on the wall. He sits there for a while and then he can’t keep his balance so he falls off.

Tarot Coach: How does being “too round” present problems in your career?
Client: This makes me think of fitting a square peg into a round hole, only in this case I think I’m a round (free spirited) peg trying to fit into a square, hierarchical hole.

Tarot Coach: In what ways do you have trouble keeping your “balance” with your career?
Client: This is what happens at work. I like my job but I have trouble maintaining a healthy balance between work and all the other things I enjoy doing. I don’t want to work a million hours a week…I really want to enjoy my life.

Tarot Coach: What does this character want and need? What prevents him from getting what he wants and needs?
Client: He wants to be able to sit still so he won’t fall but he really likes to kick his feet and look around while he’s up there enjoying the view. Then he falls.

Tarot Coach: Repeat your last statement but change “he” to “I.”
Client: I want to be able to sit still so I won’t fall but I really like to kick my feet and look around while I’m up there enjoying the view. Then I fall.

Tarot Coach: How does that phrase explain the problem?
Client: Part of me wants to stay put, hunker down and just focus on my work and moving up the career ladder but I realize that’s not really who I am. I’d really like to look into some other fields and just explore for a while. And yes, I always seem to get the bad news when I’m really starting to enjoy the position.

Tarot Coach: What’s the solution? What action is necessary?
Client: Maybe he needs to sit up high but on a different wall or a different structure altogether, one that is wider that allows him to roll and fall over without falling to the ground.

Tarot Coach: What solution does this give you? Is there a way for you to “sit up high but on a different wall or different structure altogether?” One that is “wider that allows you to roll and fall over without falling to the ground?”
Client: This sounds like I need a work setting where I can fall but not fail. One that is perhaps more creative (wider) and non-corporate (a different structure altogether).

Let's discuss...

