30 Day Tarot Challenge (Questions 11 – 15)

(11) What spread do you use most often/prefer and why? I’m just realizing how important spreads are to readers. Each time I do a reading I create a new spread so I don’t really think in the mindset of spread most of the time. The spread is just the questions I ask to get a clear picture of what’s going on so even if I begin with a set spread, the position meanings usually change each time I work with it.

(12) Have you ever created your own spread? If so, how effective is it? (feel free to show spread) I have created (or thought I created) quite a few spreads that were effective enough to use repeatedly: The 6-Card Linear Spread, The Process-Direction Spread, and The Business Snapshot Spread. These are on my old Twelve Of Hearts website.

(13) Is there a card that continuously stumps you when it is drawn? Why do you believe this to be so? The World…SEE Question #6 in 30 Day Tarot Challenge (6 – 10).

20121226-075848.jpg

The World from The Classic 1910 Tarot – Image courtesy of Fool’s Dog

(14) For what purposes do you usually use the Tarot? I use most divination tools for self-discovery and guidance. When I created my original Twelve of Hearts website and posted my meanings, some complained that they were too “psychological” in nature. Well, that’s my nature so of course that’s always going to be my perspective for divination. But I went back to the drawing board to see if I could create a more predictive system that still resonated with me and I did. But I think the WAY everyone reads and the purpose of their readings is always a reflection of that person.

(15) How much emphasis do you put on the textbook meanings for cards, and how much stress do you place on the “feeling” you get from cards through their artwork/symbolism, etc. Do you do both, or one or the other? When I first started reading tarot I put a lot of emphasis on book meanings. I had some very helpful tarot guides so when I would get confused about some aspect of reading the cards I’d go the bookstore and the book I needed at that time would kind of fall off the shelf. Now I read almost anything with pictures on it, visually. I just say what I see. I started doing this when I first got my Tarot of the Ages deck which is visually part Rider-Waite and part Thoth so it’s hard to find a book to explain the images. So I just started to say what I saw. I also found it helpful to literally use the word, SEE….”I see you out in the desert alone with your children…” or “I see you rising above a group of people and they are all trying to get your attention.” I also realized after that the importance of finding a deck that featured descriptive images of characters performing actions. These actions are the actions of your querent/client.

See all Questions: 30 Day Tarot Challenge
Let's discuss...

